120px-Wells2007Constituency.svgThe Wells constituency stretches from the foothills of the Mendips, including Glastonbury and Street, across the vale of Avalon to Burnham, Highbridge and the Somerset coast. Traditionally a strong Tory area, it fell to the Lib Dems at the last election – only to see the Lib Dems form a coalition with the Tories….

The traditional Labour heartland of the constituency is Highbridge, which returned Labour councillors for most of the last century and at the last election saw independents elected in bitter infighting amongst the Lib Dems.

The West part of the constituency is the Northern half of Sedgemoor District Council whilst the Eastern fringes form part of Mendip District and include the old shoe making town of Street and the alternative hub that is Glastonbury.

The town of Shepton Mallet is also an old Labour bastion which has seen a revival in recent years.

To find out the latest news from Wells CLP click here.

Mendip District Council

  • Labour has no members on Mendip Council since we lost the Shepton West seat in 2015.

Town and Parish

  • Ashwick – Roger Anderson
  • Shepton Mallet -Town Council members here.  Chris Inchley and Deborah Towner
  • Wells – Colin Price St Cuthbert ward

In 2010, at the tail-end of the Labour government, Lib Dem Tessa Munt took the seat in a close battle with the Tories, while Labour were squeezed to 3rd place. In 2015 voters kicked her out and replaced her with Tory James Heappey

Chris InchleyThe Labour candidate for Wells CLP for the 2015 General Election was Chris Inchley.