Sedgemoor District Council


Councillor Brian Smedley, Leader of Sedgemoor Labour group

Sedgemoor District Council  is Conservative controlled.

Sedgemoor Labour Group,the main opposition, has its power base  in Bridgwater, where the party controls the Town Council with a 11-5 majority      (5 Con) . When elected Labour had 12 councillors but within a month Diogo Rodrigues left and became an independent (and a few months later joined the tories)

District Labour group leader is Brian Smedley

29 Conservative

11 Labour

1 ind

7 Lib Dem

Sedgemoor District Labour Group has 11 councillors.

Leader Brian Smedley

Chair Graham Granter

Deputy Leader  Kath Pearce

Secretary Liz Leavy

Treasurer Alex Glassford

Whip Leigh Redman

Labour representatives on Sedgemoor District Council: