clp map
The NEW Bridgwater constituency-Autumn 2023

The Parliamentary constituency of Bridgwater and West Somerset was traditionally the strongest bastion of Labour support in the County, with the town of Bridgwater regularly returning a majority of Labour Councillors. In 2017 Wes Hinckes increased the Labour vote by 11% and the party regained it’s traditional 2nd place. In 2019 Oliver Thornton again came second keeping Labour’s important position as the only viable alternative to the Tories here.

See results here. The Bridgwater & West Somerset Parliamentary Constituency has been Tory held since the 1940s,  when an alliance between Labour, the Liberals and Independents backed the Independent Socialist Vernon Bartlett who was the MP from 1938 to 1950, showing the underlying historic potential to unite behind a progressive cause or Unity candidate. From 1950 the Constituency has always been held by the Conservatives but Labour has usually been in second place and has been for the last few elections In May 2022 Somerset County Council became Somerset Council -a Unitary Authority. The divisions  based on the current county divisions  Labour councillors can be found here.

Overview of the New Constituency

The NEW Constituency of BRIDGWATER has not yet been set up  so watch this space for autumn 2023


Bridgwater & District Branch Bridgwater & District Branch is the strongest Labour branch in the county in electoral terms returning 26 elected councillors to Town, District and County at the last set of elections.  Since 2023, after Districts were abolished, Labour returned 13 Town & 4 County Councillors from Bridgwater. Chair is Irena Hubble Secretary is Brian Smedley Treasurer is Jacqui Solomon Bridgwater Town Council is Labour-controlled, with 12 Labour Councillors to 3 Conservative & 1 Independent.  See councillors here    

Find your ward using the SCC ward finder

Privacy Policy

To read our Privacy Policy and GDPR compliance statement click here.