Yeovil elects new Labour Party Chairman

Joe Conway
Joe Conway. Standing down as Party Chairman

Yeovil Labour party would like to thank long standing Chairman of Yeovil Labour Party Joe Conway for his commitment to the CLP over the years. Joe who stood down at this years AGM, has represented Labour as a district councillor in the past and is a current serving Town councillor for Yeovil South. Joe also stood as the parliamentary Candidate in 1997 and 2001 for the Labour party. At a well attended meeting. Members both new and old played their part in electing a new Chairman.

Terry Ledlie: Yeovil Town Councillor was elected as the new Chairman:

Please see below results of all elections;

Terry Ledlie – Chair
Murray Shepstone – Vice Chair
Josh Tuck – Vice Chair, Membership…
Louisa Schofield – Women’s Officer
Sue Pitman – Secretary and Treasurer

Officer posts are:
Steve Finch – Community Involvement and Campaign Coordinator
Callum Mooney – Youth
Sue Pitman – Fund-raising
Martin Bailey – Trade Union Liaison
Bill Byrd – Political and Education
Mike Axe – IT
Eric Tranter – LGBT

Newly elected Chair Terry Ledlie said “I would like to thank everyone who attended and I am delighted that so many people contested positions and allowed democracy to take place”. Following the demise of the Coalition Government a desire for activists within Yeovil is to make up for time lost during the tactical voting era where in Yeovil Labour voters lent their vote to the Liberal Democrats to keep the Tories out; unfortunately the Liberal Democrats colluded with the Tories allowing them to persuade the electorate that Labour had brought down the global economy and actively promoted Austerity as the only way to recover, which is not working. Terry Ledlie has said “ It will be my pleasure to take the fight to both Tories and Liberals in Yeovil as they have both under represented Yeovil for years”.


Note for editor:

This will be an exciting year ahead for Yeovil CLP a strong team has been elected, with PCC elections in May, the EU Referendum in June, and the preparation for the County Council elections that will take place in May 2017.

Yeovil CLP membership has increased since the 2015 General election and activist are keen to make a difference.

For further details

Contact: Terry Ledlie

Labour party Chairman, 07958727854

Find your ward using the SCC ward finder

Privacy Policy

To read our Privacy Policy and GDPR compliance statement click here.