Bridgwater & West Somerset back Starmer & Butler for Labour Leadership

Kier Starmer the Leadership Nomination from Bridgwater and West Somerset

Literally queues of members stretched out of Bridgwater Town Hall tonight for the Leadership debate as Bridgwater and West Somerset Labour Party debated and then voted for leader and deputy leader of the Party. After a passionate hour or so of discussion with member after member standing up for 3 minutes and extolling the virtue of their favourite it became clear that it was a 2 horse race. With Emily Thornberry eliminated in the first round and Lisa Nandy in the second it was down to a Long Bailey v Starmer tussle at the top. By a margin of 5 the vote went to Keir Starmer who now becomes the official nomination from Bridgwater and West Somerset CLP.

Dawn Butler our nomination for Deputy Leader

Dawn Butler for Deputy

The vote for Deputy leader was even closer with Rosena Allin-Khan eliminated in the first round and Ian Murray in the second then top Leeds boy Richard Burgon in the 3rd it was Dawn Butler or Angela Rayner in the final.


By one vote the nomination went to Dawn Butler.


How the vote was worked out

The Alternative Vote system at work

NEC Section

NEC CLP nominations

Members also nominated Lauren Townsend and Leigh Drennan for the NEC CLP section positions and then Mehmood Mirza for the BAME representative.

Great to see such a packed meeting and some passionate debate amidst calls for Unity , Socialism and Smashing the Tories.

The Long and Winding Road to Socialism

Find your ward using the SCC ward finder

Privacy Policy

To read our Privacy Policy and GDPR compliance statement click here.