Labour names Candidates for Bridgwater Town Council Elections 2nd May 2019

smed and pearce
Brian Smedley and Kathy Pearce, Leader and Deputy Leader of Labour controlled Bridgwater Town Council.

Labour runs Bridgwater Town  Council with a strong majority and they are fighting to keep it that way. On May 2nd there will be an election for control of both Sedgemoor District and Bridgwater Town. Labour is standing in every Town Council seat and has named their candidates.

In 2015 Labour won 14 of the 16 seats whilst a single Tory  and a single Lib Dem were also elected.

Under Labour, Bridgwater Town Council has opened up its doors to the community through its Forum system and has launched major youth initiatives under its popular young Mayor, Diogo Rodrigues.

Labour will be standing 16 candidates for 16 seats, the Conservatives are standing 14 candidates, the Lib Dems 7 and in Hamp 2 Blanks will also be standing.

To read Labour’s manifesto click here.

Bridgwater Town Council Labour Candidates 2019

Bridgwater Town Council May 2019

For candidate biographies click on the links below.

For news updates go to

For press information contact the team at



CONcon LIBlib dem BLANKS
Hamp Liz Leavy Julie Nicholson Stephen Austen
Leigh Redman Adrian Moore
Eastover Glen Burrows Sue Bristowe
Tony Heywood Jonathan Fraser-Howells
Westover Li Gibson Michael Asher Roland Lee
Kathy Pearce Brian Bolt Anthony Nicholls
Brian Smedley Gareth Lewis
Victoria Julie Cordiner Lance Duddridge
Mick Lerry John Harwood
Dunwear N Dave Loveridge Pele Barnes Lorna King
Dunwear S Gary Tucker Suria Aujla
Fairfax W Graham Granter Helen Marsh
Fairfax E Alex Glassford Mike Cresswell Sarah Baker
Diogo Rodrigues Adrian Nickolls
Wyndham Inika Palaram Rachael Lilley Peter Johnstone
Stuart Ridewood Gill Slocombe Dean Waghorn
16 14 7 2

Find your ward using the SCC ward finder

Privacy Policy

To read our Privacy Policy and GDPR compliance statement click here.