New District of Somerset West & Taunton Candidates Unveiled

The new Somerset West map is a jigsaw that even the Boundaries commission can’t name properly on their web site (so I gave up too)

The elections of May 2nd 2019 will see a new Local Authority up for grabs. Taunton Deane and West Somerset have now been combined as Somerset West & Taunton. There will be 59 councillors in 35 wards.  The Conservatives will be standing in all 59 seats, the Lib Dems in 46, Labour and Independents both contesting 20,  6 Greens and 3 UKIP. Historically, the Tories have been strong in both districts with independents gaining control in the former West Somerset. Labour has held its Wellington seat for several decades and a Green recently won in Wiveliscombe.

Peter Murphy
Labour’s Pete Murphy re-elected in Watchet

Labours Peter Murphy has been returned unopposed along with the rest of Watchet Town Council and Minehead Town Council is entirely Independent. Peter, with others, recently saved Watchet Library for the second time and this time on a permanent basis.

In Taunton itself  Labour is contesting several wards with our strongest presence in Priorswood where former Mayor Libby Lisgo will be standing.

In Wellington long serving Labour councillor Andy Govier is once more on the ballot papers.

A full list of candidates can be found here.

Labour candidates in Somerset West and Taunton

0 0 votes
Article Rating
1 Comment
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
George Macpherson
5 years ago

Well done for standing. You can count on the my vote and I could leaflet Hollam Drive Dulverton.

Find your ward using the SCC ward finder

Privacy Policy

To read our Privacy Policy and GDPR compliance statement click here.